iRobot is currently selling a Roomba Plus 405, a Roomba Plus 415 and a Roomba 415X all at the same time, for $399.99, $499.99 and $799.99. Those names are one character apart and they are not the same machine. So if you are here to settle Roomba Plus 405 vs 415, or the worse one, Roomba Plus 415 vs 415X, none of this confusion is yours to apologise for. One of those three model names is currently attached to two separate listings at two different prices.
This page untangles that. Everything below is read directly from iRobot’s live Amazon listings for the three robots. Nobody here has run any of them, there is no test data on this page, and where iRobot’s own listings contradict each other, this article says so rather than smoothing it over.
The three of them, side by side
| Per iRobot’s Amazon listings | Roomba Plus 405 (G181) | Roomba Plus 415 | Roomba 415X |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon price at time of writing | $399.99 | $499.99 | $799.99 |
| Suction, as the listing states it | 70x more than Roomba 600 series | 20,000 Pa | 2.3x more than Roomba 600 series |
| Dock auto-emptying | 75 days | 90 days | 90 days |
| Mop pad washing and drying | AutoWash Dock, pad washing and drying | AutoWash Dock, heat dried at 113°F | AutoWash Dock, heat dried at 113°F |
| Mopping | Spinning DualClean pads + SmartScrub | DualClean pads + SmartScrub | DualClean pads + SmartScrub |
| Slimness claim | Not stated | 46% slimmer than Roomba Plus 405 Combo | 46% slimmer than Roomba 105 |
| Carpet handling | Pads auto-lift when carpet is sensed | Lifts pads 10 mm before crossing rugs | Lifts pads 10 mm over rugs |
| Navigation | ClearView LiDAR | LiDAR mapping + obstacle recognition | LiDAR mapping + obstacle recognition |
| Edge cleaning | Edge-sweeping brush | Extending brushes | Extending brushes |
Three suction claims that cannot be compared
Look at that suction row again, because it is the single most confusing thing about this family and nobody flags it.
The Plus 405 listing says 70x more suction than the Roomba 600 series. The 415X listing says 2.3x more suction than the Roomba 600 series. Same baseline, same brand, same sales channel, and the cheaper robot’s number is larger by a factor of thirty. The Plus 415, meanwhile, skips the multiplier entirely and gives an absolute figure of 20,000 Pa, which cannot be lined up against either of the others.
We are not going to tell you what those numbers mean, because iRobot does not say what they are measuring, and inventing a reconciliation would be worse than admitting the gap. What we can tell you is the practical consequence: do not choose between these three on the suction claims. They are not a comparable set. Choose on dock behaviour, price and physical size, all of which are stated consistently.
The naming problems, specifically
“Plus 405” is two different listings. One is titled Roomba Plus 405 (G181) at $399.99. The other is titled Roomba Plus 405 (G185) at $358.20, with limited stock showing at the time of writing. Same model name, two parenthetical suffixes, a $41.79 gap, and different feature wording in each title. If you search the model name and buy the first result, you do not actually know which one arrived.
The 415X is called two things on its own page. Its Amazon title is “iRobot Roomba 415X”, with no Plus. The very first bullet on that same listing calls it “The Roomba Plus 415X”. So searching either name is correct, and neither name is fully correct.
The 46% figure appears twice against different baselines. The Plus 415 is described as 46% slimmer than the Roomba Plus 405 Combo. The 415X is described as 46% slimmer than the Roomba 105. Identical percentage, two different reference robots, on two listings in the same family. Do not read that as the 415 and 415X being the same height, because the listings do not say that.
None of this is a scandal. It is what happens when a lineup is refreshed faster than its naming scheme can absorb, and iRobot’s 2026 refresh also produced a separate Max tier that we covered in our look at the Roomba Max 705, 715 and 775. But it does mean you have to shop by listing, not by name.
Roomba Plus 405 (G181), $399.99
The entry point of the three. iRobot’s listing gives it ClearView LiDAR mapping, spinning DualClean mop pads with SmartScrub for downward pressure, a multi-surface rubber brush plus an edge-sweeping brush, four suction levels, Clean Zones and Keep Out Zones, and an AutoWash Dock rated at 75 days of auto-emptying and roughly four weeks of mopping and pad washing based on one mopping run per week.
Buy this one if your priority is getting a self-emptying, self-washing combo robot at all, and $100 matters more to you than a 15-day-longer dust interval. It is the only one of the three under $400.
Roomba Plus 415, $499.99
The middle model, and the one whose listing is written most precisely. It states 20,000 Pa of suction, DualClean mop pads with SmartScrub, tangle-free rubber brushes, extending brushes for edges and corners, a 46% slimmer body than the Plus 405 Combo, mop pads lifted 10 mm before crossing rugs, and an AutoWash Dock that washes and heat-dries the pads at 113°F after every run with up to 90 days of auto-emptying.
Buy this one if you want the current-generation dock and a robot that fits under more furniture, and you are not willing to spend $800. The step up from the 405 buys 15 extra days of dust storage, a stated pad-drying temperature, a slimmer body and edge-extending brushes, for $100.
Roomba 415X, $799.99
The expensive one, and the hardest to justify from published specifications. Its listing reads almost identically to the Plus 415: DualClean mop pads, SmartScrub, tangle-free rubber brushes, extending brushes, a 46% slimmer design, 10 mm pad lift over rugs, LiDAR mapping, the same 113°F AutoWash Dock, the same 90-day emptying interval. The differences we could find on the page are the suction wording, the slimness baseline, and the price.
We are not saying the 415X is not a better robot. We are saying that if it is, iRobot’s Amazon listing does not explain where the extra $300 went, and we will not fill that gap with a guess. If you are considering it, ask the seller what it does that the Plus 415 does not, and treat a non-answer as an answer.
Which one should you buy
For most people: the Roomba Plus 415 at $499.99. It has the longer 90-day dock interval, a stated 113°F pad wash and dry, a stated 20,000 Pa rather than a multiplier against a decade-old robot, and a slimmer body. It is the model in this family whose listing tells you the most concrete things.
On a budget: the Roomba Plus 405 (G181) at $399.99. You give up 15 days of dust storage and the slimmer chassis. You keep LiDAR mapping, spinning mop pads with SmartScrub, and a dock that washes and dries pads. Check the parenthetical in the title before you check out, so you know whether you are getting G181 or G185.
The 415X at $799.99 needs a reason we could not find. On published specs it reads as a Plus 415 at a $300 premium. If a retailer can point to something specific, fine. Otherwise the money is better spent elsewhere.
FAQ
What is the difference between the Roomba Plus 405 and the Roomba Plus 415?
Per the listings: $399.99 against $499.99, 75 days of dock auto-emptying against 90, and the 415 adds a stated 20,000 Pa suction figure, a 113°F pad-drying temperature, extending edge brushes and a body iRobot describes as 46% slimmer than the Plus 405 Combo.
Is the Roomba 415X the same as the Roomba Plus 415?
No, they are separate products at separate prices, $799.99 and $499.99. The confusion is real, though: the 415X’s Amazon title omits “Plus” while its own first bullet calls it “the Roomba Plus 415X”. Their listed features overlap almost completely.
Roomba Plus 415 vs 415X: what does the extra $300 buy?
We could not determine that from iRobot’s listings. Both state the same 90-day dock emptying, the same 113°F AutoWash pad drying, the same 10 mm carpet pad lift, the same extending brushes and the same 46% slimness figure. The suction wording differs but is not stated in comparable units.
What is the difference between Roomba Plus 405 G181 and G185?
They are two Amazon listings sharing the model name. G181 is listed at $399.99 and describes 2-in-1 vacuum and mop with dual spinning pads, fast mapping, intense suction and 75-day self-emptying. G185 is listed at $358.20 with limited stock at the time of writing and describes spinning mop pads, pad-lift and LiDAR navigation. Read the title of the exact listing you are buying.
Do the 405, 415 and 415X use the same AutoWash Dock?
The listings state different capabilities: 75 days of auto-emptying for the Plus 405, 90 days for the Plus 415 and 415X, with a 113°F pad-drying temperature stated on the latter two. iRobot does not say on these pages whether the dock units are physically interchangeable, so we cannot tell you that they are.
Which Roomba Plus model is best for pet hair?
All three listings claim brushes designed not to tangle: the Plus 405 cites a multi-surface rubber brush and an edge-sweeping brush, while the Plus 415 and 415X both cite tangle-free rubber brushes. None of these are claims anybody here has verified, and the suction numbers are not comparable across the three, so pick on dock interval and price instead.
Do any of these mop and vacuum in one run?
Yes, all three. Each listing describes vacuuming and mopping in a single run with automatic pad lifting when carpet is detected.
The short version
So: a $400 spread across a family whose members are told apart by a single keystroke, one model name attached to two different listings, and a suction claim on the cheapest unit that is thirty times larger than the claim on the most expensive one against the same baseline. That is the actual state of this lineup, and it is why you landed here.
Ignore the names. The Plus 415 is the one whose specification is written in units you can check, and it sits in the middle of the price range. That is the pick. The 405 is the pick if $100 decides it. The 415X is the one to leave alone until somebody explains it.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.